Who We Are

FASI was developed in 2015 by Wade Swormstedt to serve as a liaison and strive for united efforts between such sign-related organizations as ISA, ASM, UC, The Signage Foundation, the Academic Advisory Council for Signage Research & Education, the United States Sign Council, and the three sign-industry publications: Signs of the Times, Signs & Digital Graphics, and Sign Builder Illustrated. FASI currently works from the home of the American Sign Museum.

Some of the goals of FASI are to collect relevant news from all sign organizations, help develop a scholarship program for degrees related to signage, help the American Sign Museum develop a succession plan, and most importantly, provide education about all things sign.

We strive to educate people on the importance of the sign industry.

FASI. Learn. More.

Board of Directors

Bill Dundas most recently served as Director/Manager of Technical and Regulatory Affairs for the International Sign Association. He also served as Technical Editor for Signs of the Times magazine for several years. For more than 30 years, Dundas owned and operated outdoor-sign contracting companies that performed national, identity-program installations.

Steve Kieffer is a former chairman of the International Sign Association and the recipient of its highest honor: the Kirk L. Brimley Distinguished Service Award. He also served ISA as chairman of its Technical Committee and as a member of its Government Relations team. He is a co-founder and former Board member of The Signage Foundation (now known as the Sign Research Foundation). Kieffer is the retired chairman and former owner of Kieffer & Co., a Sheboygan, WI sign company.

Duane Laska is the third-generation owner of North Shore Sign Co., Libertyville, IL. He was chairman of the International Sign Assn. in 2012 and served on its Executive Committee for four years. Laska also served on the Board of Trustees of The Signage Foundation Inc. (now known as the Sign Research Foundation) from its inception in 2002, and he served as its chairman from 2013-2016.

Alan Weinstein holds a joint faculty appointment at Cleveland State University’s Cleveland-Marshall College of Law and Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs, and also serves as director of the colleges’ Law & Public Policy Program. A recognized expert on planning law, he has written more than 80 articles/books on this subject.

Wendy Moeller began serving a four-year term on the American Planning Association’s Board of Directors, as the representative for seven Midwest states, in January 2016. She formerly served as president of the Ohio chapter of the APA. Moeller also serves on the Board of the Sign Research Foundation. Moeller is the principal of Compass Point Planning, which helps communities develop comprehensive plans and land-use regulations.